Scientific Community Leadership Council

The Scientific and Community Leadership Council (SCLC) guides the scientific and cultural curriculum, sets an intellectual standard, and creates a reciprocal learning culture for the Lauhoe program. Members of the SCLC meet twice per year (once in person and once via teleconference) to review the overall Lauhoe program, not only in relation to scientific and training activities, but also in relation to advancing knowledge that is culturally relevant and accessible to communities, public policy makers and governmental officials. The SCLC also makes recommendations to the Administrative Core regarding program activities.



Carol Kaufman, PhD
Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado Denver
David Takeuchi, PhD
Professor and Dorothy Book Scholar, School of Social Work, Boston College
Frank Wong, PhD
Associate Professor, Behavioral Sciences/Health Ed., Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University
Geri Donenberg, PhD

Associate Dean of Research, School of Public Health, University of Illinois at Chicago

J. Keawe’aimoku Kaholokula, PhD
Associate Professor and Chair of Native Hawaiian Health, John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
John Lowe, PhD


Professor, John Wymer Distinguished Professor, Christine E Lynn College of Nursing, Florida Atlantic University

John Wiebe, PhD
Professor, Psychology Department, University of Texas at El Paso
Julie Baldwin, PhD

(Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma)

Professor, Department of Community and Family Health, University of South Florida

Lana Kaʻopua, PhD
Associate Professor, Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Melissa Walls, PhD

(Bois Forte and Couchiching First Nation Anishinabe)

Associate Professor, Department of Behavioral Health and Population Sciences, University of Minnesota

Michelle Johnson-Jennings, PhD

Director, Research for Indigenous Community Health Center Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Minnesota

Irene Vernon, PhD

(Mescalero Apache/Yaqui/Mexicana descent)

Professor and Chair, Department of Ethnic Studies, Assistant to the Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Colorado State University

Pamela Jumper Thurman, PhD

(Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma)

Senior Research Scientist, Department of Ethnic Studies, Colorado State University Director, National Center for Community and Organizational Readiness, Colorado State University

Renee Masching

(First Nations),

Director of Research & Policy, Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network

Spero Manson, PhD

Pembina Chippewa

Distinguished Professor, Community and Behavioral Health Director, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado Denver

Steven Safren, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Miami
Tooru Nemoto, PhD
Research Program Director, Public Health Institute