Native Community Advisory Expert Panel

Members of the Native Community Advisory Expert Panel (NCAEP) review the overall Lauhoe curriculum in relation to advancing knowledge that is culturally relevant and accessible to communities and tribes. The NCAEP makes recommendations regarding the program’s cultural mentorship activities and training curricula and ensures that the Lauhoe program remains responsive to pressing Native community needs. The NCAEP provides cultural leadership, mentorship, and guidance on the research training curriculum and Lauhoe cultural mentorship protocols; identifies tribally and community-based topics for research in partnership with tribes and Native communities; provides feedback on developing tribally-based research protocols for inclusion in IHART trainings; and provides general feedback on Lauhoe protocols and procedures. Additionally, when desired, they may provide cultural mentorship or consultation to trainees.


Antony Stately, PhD


Director, Mental Health, Chemical Health and Employee Assistance Programs, Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

Ashliana Hawelu-Fulgoni

Co-founder and Executive Director, Kulia Na Mamo

Cathy Kiana Keiko Kapua

HIV Prevention Specialist, Life Foundation

Elton Naswood


Capacity Building Senior Program Analyst, Office of Minority Health Resource Center, US Dept. of Health and Human Services

Fransing Daisy


Behavioral Health Educator, AIDS Education and Training Center (AETC); Clinical Psychologist, UW Counseling Center

Hamen Ides


Executive director, Ti-Chee Native AIDS Prevention

Harlan Pruden

(First Nations Cree)

Activist, co-founder of NorthEast Two-Spirit Society (now East Coast Two-Spirit Society)

Lisa Tiger


Activist and Native AIDS Educator

Melvin Harrison


Founder and Executive Director, Navajo AIDS Network

Patsy Whitefoot


Palatisha Miyanashma Indian Education, Toppenish School District, Toppenish, Washington

Sandra Stroud


Project Director, Yappalli, formerly Director, Voices for Survivors, Choctaw Nation

Sarah Kastelic


Chief of Staff, National Indian Child Welfare Association

Sharon Day
(Boise Fort Ojibwe) Executive Director, Indigenous Peoples Task Force
Stephanie Craig Rushing

Project Director, Project Red Talon, THRIVE – Suicide Prevention Project, Northwest Portland Area Health Board

Theresa (Tiny) Devlin


HIV/AIDS educator, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (retired)